Hey readers…

Today’s blog post is going to be a list of my favourite quotes and what they mean to me. I though of this when I was sitting in my Religion exam while waiting for an hour to be up so I could leave. See, I hate Religion, well the subject, and I have enough units to basically drop it although, not literally because it is compulsory at school. Anyway, I had finished my miserable attempt at the exam and I was just sitting there. All these quotes were coming to mind. The night before, I had had a terrible night and I was up crying for most of it so I thought writing them down would be very therapeutic. So, that’s what I did…

1.

you-dont-know-what-youve-got-until-its-gone-quote-1

I’ve mentioned this one before in my 2017 Goals post but I just wanted to mention it again because it is so true. I’ve caught myself missing a lot of things that I thought I wouldn’t. For example, when I was living in New Zealand, a typical meat we would have for dinner was mince. We would have it literally 4-5 times a week because it was cheap and easy to cook. I remember being so excited to move because I would never have to eat it again. But, I was missing it! Maybe it was just the fact that I was upset and it reminded me of home, but either way, this quote is true. You really don’t appreciate what you have until it’s gone and I think some people don’t realise that. They take things for granted. I see people being mean towards their parents and siblings and now that I’m in the position where I’m so isolated from them, it’s literally killing me, I can’t understand why people act that way. I know siblings can be annoying but that’s no reason to be horrible to them. One of my biggest regrets is fighting with my sister over something silly. It got so serious that we were telling each other to kill ourselves. Obviously, we didn’t mean it and we were over it the next day but still, if I could take that back I would,  because at the moment, it feels like it actually happened. I have never felt more isolated from them than I do now and it hurts. So next time you want to be rude to your family or even your friends, think about how much you would miss them if they were gone and weren’t actually in your life anymore. As a side note, I am in no way taking suicide lightly or making a joke out of it. People who do that, make me sick, and believe me, I know some people who do it frequently. If you are struggling with anything like that, please talk to someone. I know it’s hard but please try and believe me, it’s hard to accept the fact that you need help but trust me, there are people who love and care about you. There are people who will stay up all night with you to talk you out of doing something you shouldn’t. Sorry about the side track but this is something I’m very passionate about for a variety of reasons and no doubt you will read more about it in the future.

2.

 unnamed

I’ve come to realise this. When we were young I’m sure we have all asked our parents for something to have them say no. At the time, we think it’s the worst thing in the world but something I have learned since moving and changing my whole life, is that at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter if you have or don’t have the newest phone, or that new makeup palette you want, because what really matters is who you have around you everyday. Your friends, your family, they will always be there for you. Things can be replaced but people can’t.

3. 

a7caa6a5fdf52c3b431e1dec59888593

I can’t get over how true this is. Sometimes it is hard to not let ourselves get caught up in our plans for the future and we spend so much time thinking about that we miss out on so much of the day. I keep myself awake at night sick to my stomach with worry about so much, things that have happened in the past and things that are waiting to happen, but, I’m trying to stop. I’m trying to stop worrying about the future and living in the moment. I know it’s easier said than done but at least I’m trying. My mission for you is, when you feel yourself getting upset and worried about the future, take a deep breath and think about this quote because honestly, there may not be a tomorrow. I know it’s harsh but it’s reality. Live in the moment, take risks, don’t have any regrets.

4.

Life-Quotes11

This quote is pretty much one of the only things keeping me sane right now. With everything happening with my family and my life back in New Zealand, I am constantly wishing I didn’t move, wishing I’d stayed there where it was familiar, and even though I hated it, I always knew what to expect. When I’m thinking like that, I try to remember this quote, and although most of the time it doesn’t make me feel any better, sometimes it does and I do think it is better to do something rather than looking back on it and wishing you had done it. That’s what I did. I made the decision to move, I honestly can’t believe I did that. If you had asked me in 2014 if I would ever go live with Dad, I would’ve said no straight away, but now that I’ve done it, I believe it was the best choice I’ve made because now I’m not living my life in New Zealand wishing I had moved when I had the chance.

5. 

download

 

One of my friends in New Zealand gave me something with this quote on it the day before I left and I love it so much. I’m looking at it on my wall while I’m writing this and it’s making me smile because I know it’s true. I know that whatever happens, I will always have them. Sure, we fight and we argue but we always apologise and forget about it the next day. Right now, I’m about 2,400km away from them which is a lot more than I would like but no matter how far away we are, I know that nothing is going change how much I love them. We don’t always talk every day and I definitely don’t see them everyday, but whenever I go back, I never have to worry because I know that in reality, nothing has changed between us. We still have our inside jokes and we can still talk to each other about anything.

Thank you so much for reading. Sorry it’s so long but believe me, I could have made it a long longer. A new post will be up on Sunday. Leave a comment below of what you would like to read about next.

Love Alyssa xx

Follow my social media accounts for updates…

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

