Hey readers…

A post like this one is probably long overdue since it’s already February but better late than never right? Anyway, this post is going to be focused on my goals for this year. I’m year 12 so, here in Australia, it is my last year of school. So much is changing. Everything is moving so fast. Planning has begun for 18th’s. Assessments are already being given out. I’m finally learning that this year is it. This is one of the biggest years of my life. All my results count and they’re all going to have an impact on my future. Personally, that thought terrifies me. I am no where near ready to go out into the real world, but that’s okay. I know that other people feel the same way I do and I’m not alone.

My Goals

  • Complete HSC with an ATAR that I am proud of. For those of you everywhere except New South Wales, HSC is basically our final exams like NCEA for kiwis and AP for American’s.  ATAR is a rank. I would love to explain it to you but it’s really boring and I barely understand it myself. I think it’s silly that we get ranked against everyone else that sits HSC but there’s not a lot I can do about it. I know that to do that, I will have to study hard and work for it but hopefully it will all be worth it.
  • Decide what I want to do with my life. I want to go to Uni, I know that much. But now that school has started, I don’t know what I want to study. Up until now, the answer I would give everyone when they asked me what I want to study, is Medicine. Even now, I would still love to study medicine but I don’t know what part of it I like the most. Plus, I’m not doing Biology or Chemistry at school so I’m not quite sure how that would work. Lot’s of my friends know what they want to do and sometimes it feels like I’m the only one who doesn’t. I love Music. I love Maths. I love Science. There’s so many options and it’s hard knowing that I have to pick one.
  • Create as many memories as I can with my friends here and my friends back home in New Zealand. Last year I missed out on so much with my friends in New Zealand and at the time it made me really upset, seeing everything they were doing without me, but now I’ve realised that I chose to move and whether or not it was the right choice, I have to live with the consequences. I’ve decided that instead of letting myself get upset over it, I’m going to try and make as many memories as possible when I am with them. As for my friends in Australia, I haven’t even known them for a whole year yet but they are honestly incredible and I really hope that this year only brings us closer.
  • Begin rebuilding my relationship with my siblings and my mother. This one is a little bit more personal but I’ve already told you my life story so what’s the harm in sharing this? If I could only succeed in one of these goals, rather than all of them, I would choose this one with no hesitation. Not having talked to my siblings or my mother properly since I left has made me realise how important family is. When I made the decision to move, I didn’t think that I was going to miss them this much. Every single day and the first thing I do is check my email and I am constantly checking it throughout the day too, hoping that I have an email from them and I am still waiting for that day that I finally get that email. Even if it’s just a “hey,” I know that that day is going to be one of the best days of my life. I now understand the saying ‘you don’t miss what you had till it’s gone.’ Honestly, I couldn’t agree with it more. Some advice from me, treasure what you have, and don’t ever take it for granted.

I hope you all reach your goals for this year. Thanks for reading.

Love Alyssa xx

Follow my social media accounts for updates…

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

Tumblr

